1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice please.

1. Aug 12, 2007 #1
    I'm currently an electrical engineering/computer science undergraduate in the University of New South Wales located in Sydney, Australia. The thing is, my dad got a job in the states and we'll be mmoving there soon. I'm in the second semester of my first year here (the academic year starts in late feb) and I need a little advice regarding college in the states.

So far, the suggestion has been made to enrol in a community college in January, complete the credits I need and transfer into a four year institution. I will be moving to california and will likely be attending De Anza college. Has anyone done this? Any advice?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 12, 2007 #2
    If theres not any way you can stay where you are, then you should most likely do exactly what the previous suggestion stated (assuming you dont already have the credits). My advice to you, however, is to try to stay exactly where you are, especially if you dont adapt well. if you follow the teachers alot, and you understand the methods they use, then moving to a different school could be very hard. If, however you feel confident enough to adapt well to the new teaching styles that could come, go for it man. theres not really much else you can do.

4. Aug 14, 2007 #3
    i would like to stay here, but my parents don't want to split the family up and won't let me stay for other selfish irrational reasons. my situation really sucks :(

5. Aug 14, 2007 #4
    I hope your situation gets better. I'm inclined to think that you'd be best to stay in Australia. At your age it wouldn't be easy to adapt to such a big change. By the way, are you the same Vanush from a popular NSW based student message board?

Last edited: Aug 14, 2007