1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advise on UC: Berkeley

1. Jan 13, 2009 #1
    Hi all,

I'm an undergraduate student from Australia studying law and science (majoring in Physics). I'm going on exchange this semester to University of California, Berkeley, where I will be doing 3 upper division physics subjects and one upper division math.

I have heard a lot of rumors from several sources that Physics here is ultra competitive, to the point where students steal each others books, notes etc. Personally I find this hard to believe as I am of the opinion that Physics is a small enough field that you are quite likely to run into fellow graduates later on if they follow their studies - I don't see how an extra few marks is worth making life long enemies.

Essentially I'm wondering if anyone could confirm or deny these rumors, and if they are true, what's the best way I can avoid any trouble.

Also any advice on how to get the most out of my time in the States would be welcome.

Cheers

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 14, 2009 #2

eep

I can tell you from personal experience that this is completely untrue. Pretty much everyone is very nice and often what happens is you'll find a group of people who are taking the same classes as you and can work together on the homework, etc. Most of the undergrads hang out and do their homework in the reading room (251 LeConte) so you should check it out.

A word of warning - 3 upper division physics classes and an upper division math class is going to be very difficult to keep up with. I would suggest dropping one of them. What classes are you taking?

4. Jan 14, 2009 #3
    What kind of marks did you need for the exchange? Were there any other requirements (extra-curricular, etc.)?

5. Jan 14, 2009 #4