After Quantum Mechanics: What to Study?

In summary: Hatfield and Klauber.One thing I like about Zee is that it's a really cool thing once you kind of know it a bit already.In summary, In summary, if you are new to QFT and want to start with something a bit more manageable, then start with Zee. If you are more experienced and want to go deeper, then go into one of the more serious QFT books.
pierce15
Hello everyone,

I'm currently trying to figure out what I'm going to study after non-relativistic quantum mechanics. I'm studying from Griffiths's textbook. Here are my questions:

1. Are the first 5 chapters of Griffiths's Quantum Mechanics a suitable background for quantum, or should I read other textbooks as well, e.g. Shankar?

2. Are chapters 6 and beyond in Griffiths, which compose the "Applications" section, worth reading?

3. If the answer to question 1 is "yes," what is the next logical progression, assuming I want to continue on the quantum track? Would it be quantum field theory?

4. If so, what are some good books for self-studying? (I have Zee's Quantum Field Theory in a Nutshell, I'm not sure if it's any good.)

Physics news on Phys.org
piercebeatz said:
Hello everyone,

I'm currently trying to figure out what I'm going to study after non-relativistic quantum mechanics. I'm studying from Griffiths's textbook. Here are my questions:

What have you covered so far aside from the start of Griffith's QM? It's hard to suggest much without knowing more, although I will suggest stuff anyway hah.

1. Are the first 5 chapters of Griffiths's Quantum Mechanics a suitable background for quantum, or should I read other textbooks as well, e.g. Shankar?

More, more, more. Shankar. Sakurai (after the first few chapters the quality drops off a fair bit, those chapters were just based on his rough outlines and put together by someone else, but it shows, in full, all the basic stuff you really need to, at a min, get down well first and the early chapters are pretty decent).