Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Air by degassing water?

1. Jun 21, 2016 #1
    hi, i'm a student and i'm new comer of this forum. my question is about a my project for the university based on degassing a water flow. i know that i can use a vacuum pump or ultrasound to make this on calm water, but is it possible on flow water?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 21, 2016 #2

Baluncore

Science Advisor

Welcome to PF.

Any process carried out at a low pressure, can probably also be done in a continuous flow, after an orifice that reduces the pressure in a chamber, before the inlet to a pump that restores the outlet pressure. A separate pump would be needed to remove the gas from the chamber.

By coupling a hydraulic motor with a pump having a slightly greater capacity, better efficiency would be achieved. Driving the combination would take less power than an orifice and a pump.

4. Jun 21, 2016 #3
    thanks! what pressure the pump of vacuum should be make for a good separation of air? i need that only air separate, not steam.

5. Jun 21, 2016 #4

Baluncore

Science Advisor

When the water is at the boiling point there will be almost no dissolved gasses to remove.
    The vapour pressure of water varies with temperature, you will always get some water vapour with the air.
    You need some “steam” to be sure there is no air left in solution.
    You may need to study the phase diagram for water or the steam tables.
    Start here; https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vapour_pressure_of_water

6. Jun 21, 2016 #5
    ok, i understand, so at 50°F with a pressure near 0.0121atm i can take all the air. perfect!

7. Jun 24, 2016 #6
    i need a flow of air without vapour. do you know if a steam trap exists?

8. Jun 24, 2016 #7

Baluncore

Science Advisor

Maybe a cold condenser stage could produce liquid water from the recovered gasses.