1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Air flow

1. Apr 5, 2013 #1
    a newbie here so not sure if this is in the right place!
    i'm in the middle of a paper that i'm doing for college, investigating the effects of roughness on air flow.
    i set up 2 pipes, 1 rough and 1 smooth (800mm long, 36mm diameter), in a wind tunnel, measured the velocity of the air entering and exiting the pipe. i'v got a bit of a problem with the calculations though, i cant seem to find a formula that will give me the air speed at the end of the pipes? any input'd be great! thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 5, 2013 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I'm confused. You have measured the velocity entering and exiting the pipe. Don't you want to compare the exit velocities of both pipes against the roughness?

4. Apr 5, 2013 #3
    well i'm trying to compare the velocity difference of say the smooth pipe in the wind tunnel to a theoretical velocity difference of the smooth pipe if you get me?!

5. Apr 6, 2013 #4
    bit more info might help!
    pipe is 800mm long, 36mm diameter and absolute roughness is 0.000045m
    using wind speed entering the pipe of 10m/s, what is the wind speed exiting the pipe??
    so far i'v got reynolds no to be 23454.5455, friction factor as 0.0207 and frictional head loss to be 2.34745m

would that be right?? i need to calculate the velocity of the air exiting the pipe now??

6. Apr 6, 2013 #5

rcgldr

Homework Helper