AirZooka equations

Main Question or Discussion Point

I may be making a little RC-car type robotics project, and I would like to make a sort of armament for it which is non-lethal, and kind of funny.

I have come to the realization that I can probably project sound using an air-zooka found on amazon, if I were to 3d print, or create out of household parts. I could put a speaker system in the back of the air-zooka and make it project sound a great distance, hopefully.

I however am not a physicist, therefore am completely unable to determine how to preform the equations for such a device. I am a software developer and can create a software program for determining desperate types based on off the shelf speakers provided I am told how to calculate their air displacement etc. This means that if someone were to provide me a formula which does not involve calculus I could have the software determine based on your formula exactly how to make the zooka based on different speaker types.

Last edited by a moderator:

Answers and Replies

:welcome:

I'm not familiar with air zooka. Is it something like this?
upload_2018-9-11_15-37-38.png

Attachments

berkeman
Mentor

Attachments

OK got it. I'm older than the rest of you. My childhood toys were more like this.
toys-17.jpg

Just kidding. Or am I? :wink:

Attachments

Right, I am fairly sure the only thing that matters is the diameter of the hole in relation to distance and volume of air moved. These things fire pretty far. I am reasonably certain like a rifling equation these would make small speaker emit pretty far distances, since it is in fact moving air. Thanks for the help if you indeed render it. Additionally, perhaps ada-fruit, jameco, or sparkfun some other electronics vendor would be interested in the equations. Thanks.

berkeman
Mentor
I may be making a little RC-car type robotics project, and I would like to make a sort of armament for it which is non-lethal, and kind of funny.