Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Algebra and physics

1. Aug 10, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    When does the rules of algebra not apply in physics?
    I mean in photo electric effect E = K + [tex]\Phi[/tex] right?
    and phi is a constant
    so if we have twice the energy 2E = 2K + 2 [tex]\Phi[/tex]
    and then E2=K2 + [tex]\Phi[/tex]2
    and then [tex]\Phi[/tex]2 = 2E1 - 2K1
    [tex]\Phi[/tex]2 /2 =E1-K1 = [tex]\Phi[/tex]2/2 = [tex]\Phi[/tex]1 so phi changed...
    but phi is a constant right dependent only on the type of material so it wont change? (I have very little knowledge in photo electric effects this is mainly how and when algebra does not apply in physics)

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Last edited: Aug 10, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 10, 2010 #2
    Sorry I noticed that I didn't write everything when I made the original post so my argument made no sense I edited it .

4. Aug 10, 2010 #3
    It's like if you feed one puppy and one kitty on one, well, cake (!?), your puppy and kitty are full; then if you want to throw away 2 cakes in a meaningful way (:biggrin:), then you must get another puppy and another kitty, so 2 puppies and 2 kitties totally for 2 cakes :wink:
    If we understand one cake as E, one kitty as K and one puppy as P (let P denote phi, I'm lazy), then actually P2 = 2 puppies. That is, puppy is still puppy, it doesn't grow bigger or smaller, just the number of puppies increases. Likewise, P2 doesn't stand for the work function; P2 is the amount of energy given up by 2 electrons, while P1 (or P) is the amount of energy given up by 1 electron. It's just that we define the work function = the amount of energy given up by 1 electron, or simply P.