Proving Isomorphism of Complex Number Conjugate: General Algebraic Systems

In summary, This conversation is discussing the problem of proving that the mapping a+bi->a-bi of each complex number onto its conjugate is an automorphism of the additive group of C. The solution presented seems to be correct, though it may benefit from showing surjectivity as well. The conversation also discusses the difficulty of the problem and the pace of learning mathematics as a self-taught student. It is suggested to take more time to fully understand the material if it involves more advanced concepts such as proofs for abstract algebra.
complexPHILOSOPHY
I am working through this algebra book and some of the problems. The chapter this comes out of is General Algebraic Systems and the section is Isomorphisms. I am new to proofs and maths higher than calculus I so I am not sure if I am following the text or not. There aren't any solutions and this book is really old, out of print and not on the internet (temporary until I can purchase one of the texts already suggested to me).

Here is the problem:

Prove that the mapping [tex] a+bi\rightarrow a-bi [/tex] of each complex number onto its conjugate is an automorphism of the additive group of C.

[tex]
(a+bi)\alpha=a-bi
[/tex]
[tex]
(c+di)\alpha=c-di
[/tex]

[tex]
[(a+bi)+(c+di)]\alpha=[/tex]
[tex]
[(a+c)+(b+d)i]\alpha=[/tex]
[tex]
(a+c)-(b+d)i=[/tex]
[tex]
(a-bi)+(c-di)=[/tex]

[tex]
(a+bi)\alpha+(c+di)\alpha
[/tex]

Since [tex] a-bi=c-di [/tex]
Then [tex] (a-c)+(d-b)i=0 [/tex]

[tex]a=c [/tex] and [tex] b=d [/tex]

[tex] a+bi=c+di [/tex]

This is one-to-one right?

I think this is correct but I am not sure if it is even complete or if I am on the right track. If someone could help me, that would be great.

Last edited:
Mathematics news on Phys.org
Everything looks fine.

You've shown that the mapping preserves the binary operation under each respective group.

You've shown injectivity with