Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

All - Defining

1. Dec 13, 2009 #1
    Hi!

This is my first post. I have a question of cosmological importance - literally and figuratively.

The Standard Model is the most accepted theory of (almost) everything, yet is unable to make sense of gravity. String Theory can explain it all theoretically through quantitative analysis, but is lacking substantive empirical testing. Plasma Cosmology has many answers for the quandaries that most cosmologists face, yet suffers the same fate as the other two theories, to some degree.

Here are my questions. Is it a consensus opinion among the brightest physicists/cosmologists that these ideas are, and must be exclusive? Would it be possible to integrate the three on some level?

Forgive me if my questions sound naive or even ignorant, but I'm a biologist with a fascination for, but limited understanding of, such lofty ideas!

Thanks ahead of time.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 14, 2009 #2

tom.stoer

Science Advisor

I agree.

I do not agree with the quantitative analysis. String theory is not able to uniquely derive low-energy physics. There is a huge number of different "vacua" corresponding to different interactions, forces, symmetries and particle content. Some of these solutions are rather similar to our universe, but none of them is identical. It is an open question whether this non-uniqueness is a major flaw of the theory or if it's simply a fact that theories allow for different low energy solutions (just as in ordinary low-energy physics where different solutions are allowed: different atoms and molecules; different phases like gas, liquid, solid for the same material; different crystal structures, ...)