All this superconductor business

In summary: This site helped me a lot to understand how currents actually arise in a superconductor, and how it is possible to apply a voltage across them.
Crumbles
I am new to superconductors and how they work. :confused:

Could anybody maybe explain how currents actually arise in a superconductor? Is it just by placing the superconductor in a B-field that causes a current due to the expulsion of the external field (Messiner Effect)?

If so, is that the only way of getting a current to pass through a superconductor? What would happen if you actually applied a voltage across the superconductor?

And what is with the Type 2 superconductors? :eek: From what I have been reading, they do not fully undergo the Messiner effect but repell exernal fields while still having some lines of field inside which are called vortices. Is that correct? Why does this actually happen? :confused:

-Crumbles- :rolleyes:

Physics news on Phys.org
Crumbles said:
I am new to superconductors and how they work. :confused:

Could anybody maybe explain how currents actually arise in a superconductor? Is it just by placing the superconductor in a B-field that causes a current due to the expulsion of the external field (Messiner Effect)?

If so, is that the only way of getting a current to pass through a superconductor? What would happen if you actually applied a voltage across the superconductor?

And what is with the Type 2 superconductors? :eek: From what I have been reading, they do not fully undergo the Messiner effect but repell exernal fields while still having some lines of field inside which are called vortices. Is that correct? Why does this actually happen? :confused:

-Crumbles- :rolleyes:

http://www.ornl.gov/info/reports/m/ornlm3063r1/preface.html

You may also want to do a search on messages already posted on this forum. There have been tons of stuff already discussed on this topic.

Zz.

Last edited by a moderator: