Alternative to Relay for Accurate Time Measurement Experiments

In summary, the experiment requires accurate time measurements of upto a millisecond. The experiment uses a relay to turn on/off an electromagnet and there is a maximum lag of 10ms due to the relay. The electromagnet is driven by 12V 2.5A DC. The magnetic force is proportional to the object's mass and dies away instantaneously when the object is released from the electromagnet. The experiment uses a latch system to keep the object in place and the experiment can be done using a pendulum.
Harsh Bhardwaj
I am carrying out a physics experiment to measure g by free fall using an Arduino. This experiment requires accurate time measurements of upto a millisecond. I am using a relay to turn on/off an electromagnet and there is a maximum lag of 10ms due to the relay. I am a complete beginner. Please suggest alternative mechanisms to switch the electromagnet and save those precious milliseconds. P.S. - the magnet is driven by 12V 2.5A DC.

UPDATE
npn-switch-led.png

I tried something like this using an NPN 2N2222A transistor. This transistor couldn't hold the required current for the electromagnet and a lower power supply was not strong enough.

Attachments

• npn-switch-led.png
    npn-switch-led.png
    10.8 KB · Views: 650
Engineering news on Phys.org
You can get a better transistor. A few Volt, a few Ampere - should cost less than shipping costs if buying one is an option.

An alternative on the physics side: Measure the time at two places, or measure the time as function of height in several steps, and determine g and the relay time delay both from experimental data.

Likes jim hardy
Problem may not all be due to the relay response .

The electromagnet itself is not going to turn on and off instantaneously .

If electromagnet response time does turn out to be a problem then you can improve it considerably using a higher voltage drive and some slightly more complicated electronic switching .

Nidum said: