1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Am I no good?

1. Feb 7, 2012 #1
    I am a 1st year Masters student. I started working with an adjunct out of department faculty member last semester and she mentioned that she'd fund in Spring. But now she says it won't be until this Fall. In the mean time I applied for a few TA positions, but didn't get any of them. Just heard back from a scholarship committee, not selected. I've been applying to labs for research projects in summer, no responses. My grades are fine, so is my CV; professors are asking me to come in for interviews based on them, but then I'm messing things up. I've tried to make up for what I'm doing wrong in the previous interviews. But that hasn't helped yet and the positions are few as it is. The research isn't going anywhere either.
    All these failures are just so disheartening. Am I no good? Are these many rejections normal/acceptable? Should I rethink what I am doing? Or am I just being impatient? I don't mind keeping at it, but I'm beginning to think that I’m probably just not good enough to do things at this level. I plan to apply to PhD programs this fall, but right now it feels like that'll just be wasting both time and money. I just don't know what to do anymore.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 7, 2012 #2
    I'm interested in the part about messing the interviews up. Are you getting feedback from these interviews so you know what to make up for?

4. Feb 7, 2012 #3
    Hmm, Where are you from?
    if you are in USA, it is very good chance to teach or research in Asia or Europe as well