Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Am I wrong to think this?

1. Jul 24, 2011 #1
    statement 1
    I don't know whole mathematics of theory of relativity and general relativity.

statement 2
    yet I feel comfortable to imagine how these theory works in nature.

am i wrong to think this? is it wrong to claim to know theory without understanding the
    whole mathematics ?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 24, 2011 #2
    what things?

4. Jul 24, 2011 #3

Ryan_m_b

Staff: Mentor

That isn't what your statement said. You said you feel comfotable which is completely different to claiming to know. It is wrong to claim to know a theory without fully understanding it unless you qualify your level of knowledge. I.e. "Whilst I am not an expert/Whilst I don't have a complete understanding I believe your question can be answered by..."

5. Jul 24, 2011 #4
    nice change of wording before it's edited out. But, you should have changed these to this.

6. Jul 24, 2011 #5
    thanks for reply. i was just sharing because if i said , i can imagine how the theory of relativity and general relativity works, without knowing much mathematics, they would say me a budding crackpot. is this kind of feeling a sighn of crackpot.

7. Jul 24, 2011 #6

Ryan_m_b

Staff: Mentor

As long as you understand and explain the limit's of your knowledge you will be fine. Obviously the more you learn the better your future answers will be. Crackpots are different, they hold strong belief about a topic that is counter to their peers and consensus with little/no/flawed evidence. This is typically backed up with ad-hoc arguments where they make up excuse after excuse to maintain their belief e.g

Crackpot - the apollo missions were fake!
    Astronaut - what about all the engineers who built the rocket?
    Crackpot - they're part of the cover up!
    Astronaut - what about the equipment left on the moon?