Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

American college students are increasingly likely to describe themselves as gifted

1. Jan 4, 2013 #1
    American college students are increasingly likely to describe themselves as "gifted"

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-20756247

Well, I'm an undergraduate freshman and I would say I'm above average (relative to all 18 year olds in Canada). I would also say I'm above average (relative to my peers in my classes at uni because I've revamped my work habits recently). About a year ago, I would say that I was below average (relative to the smart students in my university classes in high school). I think it's just a coincidence that there's a correlation between confidence and how well you do in school. I think decrease in academic ability has to do with the number of distractions readily available these days - we're in a post-productivity age.

Last edited: Jan 4, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 4, 2013 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

4. Jan 4, 2013 #3
    Re: American college students are increasingly likely to describe themselves as "gift

The article is confusing.

Then later:

I'm not sure what point is being made at all.

5. Jan 4, 2013 #4
    Re: American college students are increasingly likely to describe themselves as "gift

That's strange, because William Kremer told me he was better than most journalists.

6. Jan 4, 2013 #5

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor

The great George Carlin did a brilliant bit on the absurdity of the so called self - esteem movement that zooby quoted from the article. I can't link it here as it contains many obscenities but you can easily find it on youtube if you're interested.

7. Jan 4, 2013 #6

According to Wikipedia, he's a comedian.

8. Jan 4, 2013 #7

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor

Yeah so?

9. Jan 4, 2013 #8