Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

American Physical Society

1. Dec 1, 2004 #1
    Is it worth it to join? I don't know how much it is for undergrad students, but I don't want to pay or sign up for something that isn't worth it/scam (I don't think it's a scam, of course, just that it's not worth it). I think you get a choice of a magazine as well, which one would be best?

Please don't link me to their website as i'm reading it now, I just want some general information from people who have heard of them or are members or something.
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 1, 2004 #2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Read Zapper's journal, you might also want to pm him as I think he's a member of the APS, or at least he's very famlair with the soceity:

4. Dec 1, 2004 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'm a student member. I think it's about 25 bucks a year and for a Grad Student (me) it's almost mandatory. You get Physics Today with your subscription, which is quite useful as well.

If you're an undergrad majoring in Physics in your junior or senior year, I think it's definitely worth it. If you're working on a research (or REU) project with a professor, he/she might allow/require you to present any new work at a conference. To attend any of the APS conferences, you need to be a member...and if you have the smallest chance of attending a conference, take it. You won't regret the experience.

If you plan on going to Grad School, it might help your resume (maybe just a little) to have an APS membership.
  5. Dec 1, 2004 #4
    Thanks everyone! I'm a bit confused, however. On the application site: https://www.aip.org/forms/sps_mbrapp.html I am asked to "Please join the AIP Member Society of your choice:" What exactly is that? Which one is the most common to join? Does it affect anything, namely getting the Physics Today journal (or is that separate)?