Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

America's Cup

  1. Feb 8, 2010 #1

    Astronuc

    User Avatar
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

    I was listening this morning to a news article about America's cup. The reporter mentioned that abou $100 million was spent on designing (and construction?) of the vessels.

    Here's the BMW Oracle entry.
    http://www.bymnews.com/photos/displayimage.php?album=240&pid=109970
    http://www.bymnews.com/photos/thumbnails.php?album=240
    http://www.bymnews.com/news/newsDetails.php?id=65514

    http://bmworacleracing.com/en/index.html - very cool yacht

    http://www.oracle.com/corporate/bmw-oracle-racing.html [Broken]


    It turns out that the designers used CD-Adapco's STAR-CCM+ CFD package to design the sail/wing.
    http://www.cd-adapco.com/press_room/2010/01-28-10-americascup.html

    I highly recommend learning FEM and CFD if one is majoring in Mechanical/Aerospace/Nuclear engineering.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 8, 2010 #2
    I had just recently moved to San Diego when Dennis Connor entered his extremely controversial cat, like 20 years ago, in the hope of winning back the cup he'd lost. There was an uproar and many objections because no one had ever entered a multi-hull before.

    I see this "oracle" is a trimaran. Is the America's Cup all multi-hulls now? (I kinda lost touch with the competition after Conner won the cup back.)
     
  4. Feb 8, 2010 #3

    Astronuc

    User Avatar
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

    Alighi - Société Nautique de Genève - has a racing catamaran -
    http://www.americascup.com/en/acteurs/alinghi/bateau-55-857 [Broken]

    versus the BMW Oracle Trimaran.

    So yes - both (all) vessels are multi-hull. I could only find these two teams.


    I guess there is one challenger against the defender.

    http://www.americascup.com/en/contexte/33acup/33-americas-cup-6-712 [Broken]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  5. Feb 8, 2010 #4
    In this kind of race there are only the two entries. It is my observation that this usually happens when the defender tries to stack the normal rules in its favor, gets everybody P.O., and then has this challenge result.

    The outcome is that it simply drags out the interval between the traditional (legitimate?) challenges, and can result in a change in venue and defender.

    KM
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
Share this great discussion with others via Reddit, Google+, Twitter, or Facebook