AP Physics: Understanding Ampere's Law for Wires and Solenoids

In summary, Ampere's law applies to any current configuration, but it is only useful when there is enough symmetry or knowledge about B to easily calculate the integral. Additionally, for a solenoid, we know that B is constant and parallel to the axis inside the solenoid, and negligible outside of it. So for a rectangular path that is part inside and part outside of the solenoid, the integral is again easy to calculate.
guss
I am studying AP Physics, and confused about the application of Ampere's Law. When we calculate the magnetic field due to a wire, we use:
[itex]\mu_{0}I = \oint \vec{B}•\vec{dl}[/itex]

Does this only apply for straight wires that go off to infinity in both directions? We only focus on the current going through the membrane that the dls surround, but it seems like how the wire behaves after that should also matter.

Additionally, when we calculate the magnetic field at the center of a solenoid, we can use this equation even though the wire is looping. This brings up the same question, along with another one: during this calculating, we looked only at a cross section of the solenoid (like a slice of the center). Additionally, we only accounted for the current of the wires on one side of the solenoid and completely ignored the second side of the "slice", along with the fact that the solenoid is 3 dimensional and obviously many more slices can be looked at by just rotating where we take the slice from.

I am learning this from a book right now and unfortunately these issues are glossed over. Thanks for the help!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Ampere's law applies to any current configuration. But that does not mean it is always useful. It is only useful when there is enough symmetry or knowledge about B to easily calculate the integral.