Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

An absolute beginner

1. Mar 12, 2007 #1
    hi
    i simply know nothing about programming languages and related stuff, but i really want to learn one, c or c++, i don't know where to start
    can you please tell what to do and where to start, websites, books.........
    please help:cry:
    i appreciate ur help

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 12, 2007 #2
    There's a "Programming Resources" sticky just above your topic. Have you looked there?

4. Mar 12, 2007 #3
    http://www.cprogramming.com/

That seems a nice place to start.

5. Mar 12, 2007 #4
    That is nice. I think I'll get into it, too, now.

6. Mar 12, 2007 #5
    Definitely learn C++ if you're choosing between that and C. It's an excellent skill to have. It shows that you can possess a higher level of thinking and that you can write algorithms to solve real-life problems.

7. Mar 16, 2007 #6
    thanks neutrino!
    thanks a lot

8. Mar 21, 2007 #7
    I would say C++ is the best route. Especially since all of the c language is contained in C++. C++ is also good because several other languages are derivatives of it such as Java. Java share a lot of similarities to C++ in its syntax.

9. Mar 21, 2007 #8
    Java is NOT a derivate of C++!

For learning programming or a new computer skill I have the following algorithm: Go to the library, pick at least 5 books on the subject that look promising, read a few pages of each book,borrow the book that suites you best(I value simplicity and clarity of presentation the most).

I am a big fan of books written by Cay Horstmann so I would probably go with Big C++[1]. Most computer books are over priced so I prefer the library.

[1] http://he-cda.wiley.com/WileyCDA/HigherEdTitle/productCd-0471470635.html

10. Mar 21, 2007 #9
    Java is a derivative see
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Java_Programming_Language_language