Understanding the Nature of the Electromagnetic Field: One or Many?

• Thread starter csmcmillion
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Em Field
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of the electromagnetic (EM) field and its different interpretations in classical and modern physics. While in the past, EM fields were considered to be separate and generated by charges or other phenomena, modern physics sees zero-point energy as fluctuations in the EM field itself. This field is said to exist even in the absence of charges and is a characteristic of empty space. The use of prepositions in describing vacuum and non-vacuum solutions is not significant, as ultimately there is only one electromagnetic field according to Maxwell's theory.
csmcmillion
When I studied EM we always treated EM fields as being "individual" autonomous fields generated either from the separation of charges or induced by other phenomena. However, I'm reading that modern physics is treating the zero-point energy as fluctuations in THE EM field. Susskind clearly states that this EM field exists absent any charges, and is simple a characteristic of empty space.

Am I missing something here?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think you are reading way too much into a preposition. It is possible to have electric and magnetic fields in the absence of charges. These are known as vacuum solutions to Maxwells equations, and take the form of EM waves. Whether you use one preposition for vacuum solutions and another preposition for non-vacuum solutions is not terribly important.

Even in classical physics there's one and only one electromagnetic field (according to Maxwell's theory as a classical relativistic field theory). This field can have many specific forms dependent on the charges and currents.

1. What is the difference between "AN EM field" and "THE EM field"?

"AN EM field" refers to any electromagnetic field, while "THE EM field" refers to the specific electromagnetic field being discussed.