The Importance of Analysis in Physics

In summary, the conversation revolves around the importance of taking an analysis class in mathematics for aspiring physicists. The speaker questions whether it is necessary to learn how to prove assumptions, or if it would be better to focus on actual physics. The other person suggests that it is a personal preference, but it would be beneficial for theoretical physicists to have a strong understanding of analysis. They also provide two ways of defining logarithms and exponential functions rigorously.
brocks
I'm an aspiring physicist who is just starting out with freshman courses, so let me apologize in advance if I say something really dumb, or unintentionally offend someone.

I found this forum several weeks ago, and in my reading of posts from mathematicians, I got the idea that "real math," as opposed to computation, begins with analysis courses.

I was reading my intro calculus text tonight, and it was proving that (x^r)' = rx^(r-1) for any real r, as opposed to just integer or rational r. The proof began by assuming that x^r is differentiable, and that the laws of logarithms hold for real exponents.

It sort of hit me that those were major and important assumptions, and would be hard to prove. And that an analysis class is where you would learn to prove them. And that I didn't need to know how to do that --- I see that it is very important to prove those assumptions, but I am perfectly happy to accept that pure mathematicians have proved them.

So am I correct in thinking that taking an analysis class to prove such assumptions would be akin to spending time doing all kinds of experiments to prove that energy and momentum really are conserved, i.e. not the best use of my time?