1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Angular momentum - i + j

1. May 2, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

A particle has a mass of 2kg and moves in the xy plane with a constant speed of 3m/s along the direction of the vector r = i + j. What is the particle's angular momentum relative to the point (0,5) meters?

2. Relevant equations

L = rmv

L = mvrsin(theta)

3. The attempt at a solution

I am studying for my exam and i am a little confused about this problem.

I know the answer is 21 kgm2/s

and the work to get that answer is (2kg)(3m/s)(5m)sin(45) = 21

So i get where the mass (2kg) and the velocity (3m/s) go in the equation but i dont get why the 5m is in there and how would i know to use the angle 45 degrees?

Thanks for any help on clarifying this up for me :)

2. jcsd
  3. May 2, 2010 #2
    From the vector r=i+j , you can see the particle at some time will be at point (0,0). Here, it is 5 meters from the point (0,5). The angle is that between the line that connects the particle and the point and the movement vector of the particle. The line goes straight up, and the movement vector is at 45 degrees away from this.
    You should really always make a drawing for these kinds of questions, that makes it really easy :)

4. May 2, 2010 #3

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Hi mybrohshi5! :smile:
    (btw, there's a third formula for angular momentum … L = r x mv, using the cross product :wink:)

45º is the angle of the vector i + j.

5sin45º is the "lever arm", or the distance from the point (0,5) to the line of the momentum (draw it, and you'll see). :smile:

Last edited: May 2, 2010
  5. May 2, 2010 #4
    try the cross product of the position and the velocity vectors