Homework EquationsN/A The Attempt at a SolutionN/A

In summary, a first year biomechanics student is struggling with a problem involving a 60kg diver who has an initial angular velocity of 14rad/sec and a radius of gyration of 0.5m. The student is confused about how to solve the problem without a "change in time" in the equation. However, it can be solved using conservation of angular momentum and the given information of the diver's mass and altered radius of gyration of 0.3m.
jayty22
angular velocity?!

Homework Statement

Hello, I am a 1st yr biomechanics student and I am having a lot of problems figuring this stuff out and I have an exam coming up and I'm kinda panicing! lol! ok here is the exact problem:

"A 60kg diver is positioned so that his radius of gyration is 0.5m as he leaves the board with an angular velocity of 14rad/sec. What is the diver's angular velocity when he assumes a 'tuck' position, altering his radius of gyration to 0.3m?"

My conundrum comes because the formulas we were given all include a 'change in time' to be used in the equation. Maybe (yes, definately!) I am missing something here so can someone please educate me as to how I would go about solving this problem and the formula that I am supposed to use.

Thanks very much in advance,

- One confused young man (a.k.a. Jay) :confused:

Physics news on Phys.org
Giving you the radius of gyration and the mass is a way of giving you the moments of inertia (and I had to look that up). Think about conservation of angular momentum.

Homework Equations
N/A

The Attempt at a Solution
N/A. angular velocity?!

Hi Jay, first of all, don't panic! Biomechanics can be a challenging subject, but with some effort and practice, you can understand it. Let's take a look at this problem together.