Is Our Education System Failing Students?

• Thread starter Angry Citizen
  • Start date
  • Tags
    students
In summary, the students were intelligent and driven, but were afraid of making mistakes and instead relied on the Feynman physics method.
Angry Citizen
I'm annoyed. I'm just an engineering undergrad myself, so technically I'm one of these people. But lately I've just become so sick of students, particularly undergrads, who have absolutely no drive to learn, and are unwilling to put out any effort towards figuring things out. They expect their hands to be held, and aren't willing to just sit down and think things through to their logical conclusions.

You can see some of this in the homework help sections here on PF. You'll get these people posting who have no idea what they're doing, even though a tiny amount of thought could let them arrive at the right answer. I don't want to post the example I have in mind, because it's cruel to mock people publicly for not being very smart, but it's annoying to me. They post here the day before their assignment is due with all these silly questions that could be easily answered if they had just paid attention in lecture, or at least had the decency to do a quick google search. How are any of these people going to succeed in life if they don't take some personal responsibility for their own education?

I want to become one of the contributors/helpers on here now that I'm starting to reach some basic understanding of aerospace engineering and physics, but this kind of stuff just puts me off -_-

Physics news on Phys.org
If you think that the OP in question doesn't want to put in the effort, then feel free to report the thread.