Another Grad School Question

In summary: Overall, your strong performance in math and physics, along with your published paper and high GRE score, make you a competitive candidate for top graduate programs in physics.
sol66
So I am studying physics at some small university and I'm interested in getting into grad school. My first year and a half I screwed up with a 3.0 and got C's in all of my chemistry and biology classes. However I have never gotten lower than a B in any of my math or physics classes. In fact, I was a year ahead in my major and I scored in the A/B range for my upper division physics classes. I even took two graduate courses and received B's. Fortunately my last two years I was able to get my GPA up to a 3.5 due to all of the upper division math and physics courses I've taken. Also, I've been doing research for the last two years on quantum computing and I have one paper published. Lastly I scored in the 85% of the GRE physics exam. So what sort of grad schools should I be looking at?

Physics news on Phys.org
Given your academic performance and research experience, you should be looking at top-tier grad schools for physics. Depending on your specific interests in quantum computing, you could look into programs such as the University of California Berkeley, Stanford University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Imperial College London, or École Polytechnique. These universities have strong physics departments and offer excellent graduate programs. Additionally, you should look into any prestigious research institutions that offer relevant research opportunities, such as the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Sandia National Laboratories, Los Alamos National Laboratory, or Argonne National Laboratory.

What is the purpose of attending graduate school?