1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Another self study thread

1. Aug 1, 2008 #1
    yes i know there's one right beneath me, and i actually posted in it but my question is a little different than that poster's. i'm actually a physics student at a university at around the junior level and i want to pursue theoretical physics. now i know everyone says this because it sounds so swanky but i've gotten a taste of experimental and i wholly dislike it. anyway after school i'd like to go to industry doing applied math and i figure a theoretical/computational physics background will be the most well rounded where as in applied math i would study just PDEs or SDEs or something like that. plus being a professor some day would be quite enjoyable.

the problem i'm faced with now is that i'm graduating next year tentatively and there's no way i'll be prepared for grad school by then. i'm going to try to push it back another year but barring that there's absolutely no way my classes will prepare me in time. so i'd like to study on my own but i'm having lots of problems.