1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Antiderivative of -tanx

1. Jul 4, 2008 #1

LHC

Hi, I'm just starting to learn integration (I went to the first class in my summer course yesterday), and I'm already a bit confused. I was doing some practice problems in the text, and I found this:

Find the most general antiderivative of f on the indicated interval:

[tex]f(x) = -\tan x[/tex] on [tex](-\frac{\pi}{2}, \frac{\pi}{2})[/tex]

I'm...really unsure as to how to do this problem. All this time I'm thinking, "What do I differentiate to get tan x in the first place?" ...heh, I'm still not sure. Could someone please give me some pointers? Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 4, 2008 #2
    Try multiplying by (secx + tanx)/(secx + tanx).

4. Jul 4, 2008 #3
    [tex]-\int\frac{\sin x}{\cos x}dx[/tex]

[tex]u=\cos x \rightarrow -du=\sin xdx[/tex]

Last edited: Jul 4, 2008
  5. Jul 4, 2008 #4

LHC

I took your suggestion and worked it out on paper, but...I don't seem to be able to see how this would help.

f(x) = (-sec x tan x - tan^2 x)/(sec x + tan x)...

I'm afraid I've run into something that's a bit too advanced (this problem was listed under the "challenger" questions..and I was just curious). I will come back to this problem once I'm more...knowledgeable? Nevertheless, thank you for your help. I shall ask my teacher to explain it to me in detail later.

6. Jul 4, 2008 #5
    The method used to solved that is called integration by substitution. Basically, you make a part of the equation equal to u (I'd choose cos x) and find du (which is equal to -sinx*dx). Substitute in and integrate in terms of u.

7. Jul 4, 2008 #6

dynamicsolo

Homework Helper

I believe you're thinking for the trick for integrating sec x ...