Any physics branch?

1. Guys can you tell me your favorite physics branches (even theories) i want to start reading one
  2. jcsd
  3. Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

Astronomy and nuclear physics here.
  4. I personally enjoy quantum, and anything to do with space travel.
  5. Difficult to pick a single branch. Dare I say that it's impossible?

I really like mathematically beautiful theories, this I've learned the past year while studying GR and analytical mechanics (the manifold kind). A course in QM I'm studying now has my full attention as well. The level of mathematical rigour is probably related with the fact that our instructor is a mathematical physicist.

What I also liked is the little taste of Holography (AdS/CFT mostly) we got in an elective course. It's awesome to see how really involved calculations become rather easy when switching between the field theory and it's gravity dual.

On the more 'practical' side of the spectrum, non-equilibrium stat. mech. was great to study as well. Although I'm a long way of really grasping all subtleties.

6. WannabeNewton

WannabeNewton 5,859
    Science Advisor

For me it is GR with statistical mechanics a close second.
  7. Matterwave

Matterwave 3,865
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

General relativity, although I am not very good at it! T_T
  8. ZombieFeynman

ZombieFeynman 318
    Gold Member

Topological Field Theory is the area I would like most to learn more about
  9. ZetaOfThree

ZetaOfThree 108
    Gold Member

That's tough, but I'd say it's classical electrodynamics for me. Then probably stat mech for second.
  10. micromass

micromass 20,075
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Since my first physics lecture I always had a special place in my heart for "measurements and units".
  11. George Jones

George Jones 6,476
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

12. WannabeNewton

WannabeNewton 5,859
    Science Advisor