Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Anyone watch House?

1. Aug 29, 2006 #1
    If so, do you have any idea if the conditions and symptoms they treat on the show are at all real? IE, how accurate is the information on the show?

From past precedent, I'd expect there to be a fair amount of fluff, but not being a doctor I have no idea.

Just curious.
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 29, 2006 #2
    I watch it; funny I see your thread when I was thinking about it...
    The show makes me want to become a doctor; that is, until I remember the amount of memorizing a medical student has to do.
    Pretty funny and dramatic show.
  4. Aug 29, 2006 #3
    I love that show, definitely one of my favorites. And yes as with any show I would imagine there is a fair amount of 'fluff' haha.
  5. Aug 30, 2006 #4
    All the conditions and symptoms are real (Yes, even the being immune to testosterone one, if that one hasn't played for you guys yet then ignore that comment >.>;). I imagine there is a fair amount of fluff in how they explain it (but neither am I a doctor), but I know the conditions are real.

<3 House =p
  6. Aug 30, 2006 #5

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It's a great show, some of the best writing on tv imho. And of course Laurie & the cast don't do a bad job either.
  7. Aug 30, 2006 #6
    I've watched it several times and really enjoy Hugh Laurie.

I have been assuming all the medical conditions they treat are real, but I haven't checked. If that's an issue for you, you could write each thing down as you watch and google it or go to the library and check medical encyclopedias.
  8. Aug 30, 2006 #7
    Yeah I enjoy watching House because of the writing and characters, but not so much the story. Medicine's not really one of my interests; I just like the drama.
  9. Aug 30, 2006 #8
    I love the show. I can't wait for the next season.
  10. Aug 30, 2006 #9