1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Applying for grad school

1. Jul 28, 2008 #1
    I'm applying for grad school this fall. i've been looking at schools and try to decide which school to apply, which is quite confusing.
    I am majoring in astrophysics and also applying to astronomy/astrophysics program.
    I've been doing some research about schools, looking for their profile in gradschoolshopper.
    I'm still anxious about what my chances are of getting into these schools.

Here's my brief profile:
    - cumulative GPA~ 3.7/4.0 , major GPA: 3.9/4.0
    - i havn't taken PGRE yet, but i hope i will get the score of around 800.
    - I did research at my school last summer, and i am doing a research at a national lab this summer. no publications.

school i am thinking of applying to :
    UT Austin
    U Hawaii
    Ohio State
    UC Santa Cruz

Any advices on my chance of getting in those schools would be great, and on what school you would recommend to be a safety school.

For others applying for grad school, what schools are you considering? and how do you choose where to apply??
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 28, 2008 #2
    Apply to
    University of Arizona
  4. Jul 28, 2008 #3

I had very similar stats, 3 REUs, a publication (working with people at a top school), several conference posters, and still didn't get into the schools on your list I applied to (most of them). Of course, I didn't get anywhere near a 800 on the physics GRE - most of the people who did in my year were from China. It can be a killer - don't just assume you'll get a great score. Study for it!
  5. Jul 28, 2008 #4
    Hawaii, Austin, Santa Cruz, Santa Barbara, San Diego... damn why didnt I go into astrophysics.
  6. Jul 28, 2008 #5

Homework Helper
    Gold Member