Are Integrals Accurate Representations of Area Beneath Curves?

• Thread starter Chaos' lil bro Order
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Integrals
In summary: If f and g are integrable, so is f+g and \int_a^b (f+g) = \int_a^b f + \int_a^b g- If f is integrable, so is cf, where c is a constant and \int_a^b cf = c \int_a^b f- If f and g are integrable, and f \leq g, then \int_a^b f \leq \int_a^b g - If f is integrable over [a,b], so is
Chaos' lil bro Order
Hey, I'm a math novice. As far as I can tell, we use integrals to solve such problems as the area beneath a curve. If I understand it correctly, integrals use a method where an infinite series of rectangular columns are shot up at the curve to probe its varying slope. These columns, because they are flat on top, have their corners sliced off by the varying curved slope, and integrals are designed to sum and cancel all these extra sliced off column shavings, so that we get a true picture of the varying slope.

If this is wrong already, please correct me.

So I was wondering, are integrals perfect at finding the area beneath a curved slope, or are they approximations?

Thanks.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
well I'm no mathemetician but as I understand it, it's an exact value. Since your using an infinite amount of rectangles the error that you get from those rectangle corners are infinitely small.
Also, you perhaps haven't learned it but, you don't have to even use rectangles with flat tops to get the approximate integral. your rectangle can be a trapezoid to best fit the curve your integrating, or a parabola which will fit very closely to the curve and minimize the error of an approximate integral significantly. But either way you integrate it, when you're doing true integration, the error is infinately small and infact and exact value.
It's a lot easier to explain with diagrams. hopefully it made sense though.