Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Are physicists respected?

1. Apr 13, 2008 #1
    I am asking purely out of interest. Are there any physicists who could talk about their experience? If you state that youre quantum physicist do they go "wow" or do they just take it as something usual (or do they sometimes not understand what the hell are you talking about)? :)
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 13, 2008 #2
    Yes, physicists are respected. Most people have the idea that it takes a lot of smarts and education to be one.

Physicists don't say "I'm a quantum physicist" unless they want to sound jolly obfuscatory.

Things that people have said to me when I tell them what I do:

1. Wow, you must be smart.
    2. Wow, that's sort of unusual for a girl.:uhh:
    3. I've never met a physicist before.
    4. Cool, what do you study?
    5. Hmmm, you look like a physicist. :confused:
    6. Oh, what hospital do you work at? :rolleyes:
  4. Apr 13, 2008 #3

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

:rofl::rofl: I have actually been asked if I know what med school I'm going to after I graduate with my Physics B.S.
  5. Apr 13, 2008 #4
    I've heard jokes about jobless theoretical particle physicists, and personally know at least one. I'm not convinced theoretical physicists are respected always, at least in a sense that they would be getting employed easily. Physicists leaning more towards experimental stuff are probably considered more useful?
  6. Apr 13, 2008 #5

Chi Meson

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Whether people admit to being impressed or not, notice how many times folks will say "It's not rocket science..." or "It doesn't take a degree in physics to figure out..." or "Now I don't have a degree in physics, but..."

The popular mindset is that physicists are smart. You do not stumble into a degree in physics.