Determining Target Thickness from Area Density

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of determining the thickness of a target with only the area density known. The person studying experimental physics has tried finding equations, but with no success. It is suggested that knowing the material's density (kg/m^3) can help determine the thickness. The conversation ends with the person finding the equation and realizing that looking at the units can also provide a way to find the thickness.
guddy
Ok I am studying experimental physics and I wondering if you can determine the thickness of a target if you only know the area density. For example if you have a target of 70 micrograms/cm^2 can you determine the thickness from just this information ? I have tried to find equations but cannot find a way to do it, so is it possible ?

Physics news on Phys.org
If you know what the material is you should be able to look up it's density (kg/m^3)
then you can determine the thickness

Ahh ok I have found the equation thanks for helping.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Area_density

Also I guess I should know that all I have to do is look at the units to determine how to find the thickness.

I must be not thinking straight today !

Cheers

Last edited:

1. What is meant by "determining target thickness from area density"?

Determining target thickness from area density refers to the process of calculating the thickness of a material based on its density and the area it covers. This is often used in scientific experiments and industrial applications to ensure accuracy and consistency in the desired thickness of a material.

2. How is area density measured?

Area density is typically measured by dividing the mass of a material by its surface area. This can be done using various instruments such as scales, rulers, or specialized devices like X-ray fluorescence (XRF) analyzers.

3. What factors can affect the accuracy of determining target thickness from area density?