Improve Your Arithmetic Accuracy with These Helpful Tips

In summary, the conversation is about someone seeking help to improve their basic arithmetic skills. They have tried online games but did not find them helpful, and have realized the importance of practice in understanding mathematical concepts. They joke about different ways to solve problems and discuss different resources, such as Mad Minute sheets and mobile games, to improve arithmetic accuracy.
ghost02
I need help making my basic arithmetic more accurate. [eg. 2*2=4]
If anyone has any suggestions they are greatly appreciated.

The Attempt at a Solution

I tried some online games but they don't help very much. Is it really just practice practice practice?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, practice makes perfect.

I barely understood the rules of exponents, fractions, logarithms, etc. till after I took Calculus and realized how important it is.

I studied a lot afterwards and now I know and understand all the basic rules. Takes time, work as many problems as you can! And see how many ways you can solve a problem. It stills makes me laugh how a problem can be solved so many different ways.

I had a feeling there is no other way besides practice. Time to get out those old Mad Minute sheets...

ghost02 said:
I had a feeling there is no other way besides practice. Time to get out those old Mad Minute sheets...
Lol, what are those?

If it makes you feel any better, I still suck at adding/subtracting. Idk why, but I just can't get good at it.

Mad Minute is basically 60 problems of multiplication addition subtraction and division and you have to complete it accurately in 60 seconds. A problem a second! Ehh, I am the same, its hurting my test scores when I put 7*8=64 completely on accident!

Well at least you're off the hook when multiplying 9 by some number from 1-9 :p

lol. Actually, 1+1 can actually not equal 2. I read that somewhere...

Anyway, anyone have any other suggestions for arithmetic accuracy?