Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Art and Mathematics/Physics.

1. May 21, 2008 #1
    Greetings...i am an Independent Artist and my greatest inspiration has come from maths/geometry...i also have an interest in revolutionary scientific ideas such as "free energy" as proposed by Nikola Tesla..."biological transmutation" as proposed by Dr. Kervran and..."morphic resonance" as proposed by Sheldrake and such subjects as: "self replicating machines"..."zero point energy"..."super conductors at room temprature"...
    I do think The Artist has a role to inspire mathematicians/scientists and indeed good artists with a well developed imagination (eg:S.F. writers) are capable of a bit of latteral thinking and finding novel ways of solving problems.
    I am not mathematically/scientifically qualified but in the past have solved geometric problems (that others more qualified than me claimed was impossible) that have led to paintings/images eg: "Penrose's Conundrum"..."Puzzle No.2"..."Mcclure's Matrix"..."Modular Matrix"...which are just a few examples...

Bending with the wind
    The Taoist gathers water...
    In a straw hat

Best regards pete mcclure.

PS: contrary to common held belief i do not think that Fermat's last Theorem has been proved because when we are dealing with infinitely large numbers a lot mathematical laws do not apply (in the heart of my very being i know the theorem to be false) equally with infinitely small particles the known laws of physics do not apply...it is the duty of any mathematicl/scientific enquiry to search for "the exception that proves the rule"...
  2. jcsd
  3. May 21, 2008 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor