Math & Fine Arts: Texts & Materials for High School Curriculum

In summary, a high school math teacher is seeking suggestions for materials and texts that combine mathematics and fine arts in a math class curriculum. They are looking for a course that is mathematically rigorous and covers topics found in Algebra 2. The teacher also mentions a website that discusses fractals as a form of fine art and suggests checking out a specific piece. There is some confusion and debate about the connection between math and fine arts and what the purpose of this class should be.
Quantumduck
Hello,
I am a High School math teacher in the US, and our district is writing a curriculum for a new math class that will include a section on Math and the Fine Arts.

I have found many websites that deal with this from a Fine Arts perspective, but we need some mathematical rigor in the class. Do you know of any texts or materials that include mathematics as the subject, instead of mathematics as a supplement to, Math and Fine Arts?

Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
I don't know if this is relevant to your project, but have you considered how manipulating fractal images might be "fine art"? I made these images using a program called Fractal Magic (available on-line from the author). The reason that I put "fine art" in quotes is that when I approached some art directors about maybe finding a commercial outlet for my work, they were less than enthusiastic. One worked for a place that did graphics for the music industry (CD liners, etc) and I was surprised about his lack of interest.

squidglowcopy.jpg

eggscopy.jpg

spiral4copy.jpg

A few more:

hellfire_nonsymcopy.jpg

embosspiralcopy.jpg

antcopy.jpg

Quantumduck said:
I am a High School math teacher in the US, and our district is writing a curriculum for a new math class that will include a section on Math and the Fine Arts.
Could you elaborate upon what this class is supposed to be?

Hurkyl said: