Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Asking a cashier girl out?

1. Nov 21, 2015 #1
    This girl works at my university's food court as a cashier. I always make small talk with her but I haven't really gotten the chance to really know her since I always have a line of people behind me. She is pretty nice, but being nice is a must since she's a cashier after all. I would like to ask her out for some coffee or something like that, but I don't know how. I'm an engineer major and since, yes, the stereotype is true, engineers are not very good at asking girls out; I don't know how to do it without looking and sounding so awkward.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 21, 2015 #2

DaveC426913

Gold Member

Show her your outgoing side. Stare at her shoes when you talk to her. BaZING! :biggrin:

Just ask her to a coffee after her shift.

There's no special way that will give you more success than simply asking.
    There's also no special way that will make it easier if she says no.

It's like jumping into a pool. No matter how long you wait, or what contortions you do getting in, the water won't get any warmer. So just jump. And have fun.

4. Nov 21, 2015 #3

Evo

Staff: Mentor

I lived near NASA growing up and we had more engineers per capita than anywhere I can think of. They were not shy, they were not afraid of asking a girl out (and they had a a huge amount of competition).

I agree with Dave, ask her out, if she says no, no big deal move on.

5. Dec 5, 2015 #4

epenguin

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

So tell him how they asked you!

Then that will solve the biggest of his 3 problems.

The first is breaking the ice, but he has already done that. The third is those people behind him in the line. Maybe the place has a slack time?