1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Asking TA for Med-School LOR

1. Mar 2, 2012 #1
    I am a second year graduate student at a large research university. I am a Ph.D. student, but I have not yet taken quals. My field of research is Physics Education. Last semester I TA'd a studio-based introductory course of about 81 students (the first semester algebra-based course that pre-meds take), which I was not the instructor on record. The studio-based method allows for much interaction and very little lecture, so the duties of a TA vs. a professor are essentially the same. A student from this course has approached me and asked if I will write them a letter of recommendation for medical school. The student was very good and I would have no trouble writing a good LOR for them, but should I? I have advised the student that it would most likely be better to get a LOR from a professor whose reputation would far exceed mine. Should I write the letter and just have the professor on record co-sign? I am really not sure if a LOR from a TA would hold up very well against other applicants. Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 3, 2012 #2
    I taught recitations as a TA. One of the brighter and enthusiastic students approached me to write a scholarship recommendation.

I declined it firmly as (in my opinion) it would have done her no good. I am just a senior undergraduate.

4. Mar 3, 2012 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor