• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

Programs Aspiring Chemical Engineer Q's

Hello All!

I am an aspiring chemical engineer. I am currently finishing my sophomore year at community college. I live in California and will be transferring to SJSU, Berkeley or Davis this Fall. I have some questions for chemical engineers, teachers, grad students, or anyone who has more knowledge than I do about what to expect once I transfer. I am leaning more towards Davis (if i get in). Math, Physics and Chemistry don't necessarily come easy to me, but I have a very strong work ethic. To this point I have taken 3 semesters of engineering physics (mechanics, E&M, and physics 3 where i had exposure to optics, thermo, special relativity and quantum), 1 year of gen chem, 1 year of O-chem, calc 1-3, differential equations, linear algebra, 1 semester of materials science, intro to C++, 1 semester of Biology, and MATLAB.

I have looked at some of the potential schedules I will have at these 4-year universities and they include courses like P-chem in my first quarter/semester. I would like to give myself the best chance possible to excel once I transfer and I would like some advice on what I could brush up on over the summer. Out of the courses I have taken, which will be most important to have mastered for my junior year as a chemical engineering student? Are there any courses that I have not taken that would have been useful to have before my junior year? I have the summer to prepare and am up for any advice anyone has on what I can do.

Thanks for reading!