1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Assess my performance

1. Dec 26, 2011 #1
    Hi all,

I'm a 3rd year undergrad at a top 20 university, not known for its math program, finishing up my degree in applied math and I've come to the conclusion that I behind in mathematical experience and ability when compared to other 3rd years undergrads at top math universities. The point of this post is for you to assess my current standing and offer guidance. Here's some background:

GPA ~ 3.7-8

Courses taken:
    Multivariable Calc
    Linear Algebra
    Diffe Eq
    Foundations
    Numerical Analysis
    Probability & Stat I

Courses to take:
    Probability & Stat II
    Partial Diff Eq
    Optimization Theory

I have the option of getting a degree in applied math, but I'd have to take a year of real analysis and algebra, and a semester of complex variables and abstract vector spaces.

I have no research experience! (I know, bad)
    I've also been the type of student who only studies math as it pertains to coursework.
    I only decided last year (as a sophomore) that I wanted a degree in math. As for the future, I remain undecided. If I get the pure math degree (in addition to the applied), I perform very well in those courses, my mathematical ability improves greatly, namely with proofs, and I involve myself in research, then I'd consider myself capable of studying some area of pure math at the graduate level. Could be wrong...
    I could also study something applied such as statistics...
    Or I could not go to grad school and get some industry job