Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Astro physics research

1. Jun 21, 2012 #1
    Hey guys,

I'm studying in my final year, physics as an undergraduate student, and we have to complete a research project for the finals. Our course length is 2 months. I'm deeply interested in astro physics and cosmology. Any new topics that i can consider as an research topic?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 22, 2012 #2

Bobbywhy

Gold Member

4. Jun 22, 2012 #3
    i'd like it to be astro related

5. Jun 22, 2012 #4

Nabeshin

Science Advisor

To clarify, by research do you mean original research, or something more along the lines of a literature review (à la research paper from English class)?

6. Jun 22, 2012 #5
    more like a review :)

7. Jun 22, 2012 #6

turbo

Gold Member

That's good. You might have to work your tail off even to get a review paper put together in that time. You'd probably need two years or more to actually put together a paper with original research. Good luck.

8. Jun 22, 2012 #7
    do you have any ideas?

9. Jun 22, 2012 #8

turbo

Gold Member

Not really. It took me two years of data-mining to put together a database of apparently-interacting galaxies with LOTS of help from a collaborator in Finland and another in NY state before we could pull a paper together. It was peer-reviewed and published in a Springer journal, but it still took a long time, pulling down info from NASA, Cal-Tech, HyperLeda, etc. Two months is not a lot of time to pull something coherent and publishable. You'll probably have to put together a 1-2 page review, with a heavy emphasis on links to published papers. Good luck.

How about a short paper on the distribution of GRBs? That might be a fun one.

10. Jun 22, 2012 #9
    Hmm, i'm not sure regarding GRBs, are there any interesting papers?