1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Astrophysics advice

Tags:
  1. Nov 27, 2015 #1
    Hello,I am studying Applied Physics now ( I am first year student) . I want to focus on Astrophysics in future. Please , advise me. Whatshould I study in Chemistry, Math? which branch?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 1, 2015 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

4. Dec 25, 2015 #3
    Hey there :)

I studied astrophysics too at uni, and i really recommend studying some computational maths subjects! Learning matlab, python, and R will be really help when you get to the research stage :)

-Sara
    http://thephysicsmix.blogspot.com.au

5. Dec 25, 2015 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Do you actually have a major that says "applied physics"? It might not be a good idea to take that then. It's a better idea to take a "general physics" curriculum which will introduce you to experimental, applied, but also theoretical physics. Focusing only on the applied side might damage your chances later if you turn out you want to do theoretical stuff. Of course, I say all of this without really knowing what your curriculum actually covers.

But aside from that, I think getting a physics degree is your best bet. A chemistry or math major is not necessary.