Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Astrophysics Minor

1. Apr 28, 2005 #1
    I am an aerospace engineering major.

Does anyone have any thoughts on how that would work? Course work involved, how hard it is?

Thanks!!!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 28, 2005 #2

SpaceTiger

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Where I went there was no option for an astrophysics minor, so I'm not sure what it would entail. I suspect, however, that your aerospace training would give you a lot of the necessary background in math and physics. In the absence of any other information, I'd say go for it, but I don't have a lot to go with here.

4. Apr 28, 2005 #3
    Isn't astrophysics just a specialization of physics? So wouldn't you have to go to Grad School and get a ph.d. specifically in astrophysics?

PL

5. Apr 29, 2005 #4
    since i graduated with a degree in Honours Neural Computation & Minor in Astrophysics I may be able to help...I took it at McMaster which has some premier researchers in the field.

Lets see there were 8 courses in total(2 first year...so hopefully you'll have 6 electives)
    the 2 most important courses would be
    [0] stellar structures(how a star evolves and the "star map" can't remember the name but it describes the evolution of the star path...oh hell i have the book infront of me..main sequence table..>REALLLY COOL
    and
    [1] Cosmology the study of evolution of galaxies and multistar systems ..nebulas,blackholes, physics metric systems ....sorry its be quite a long time so i don't remeber those systesm...blah blah...

THE WONDERFUL TEXT I USED WAS ostlie and carrolls so you may just wanna buy it and screw taking the minor...but anyways the other 4 courses, all
    2year courses in thermo...E&M...analytical mechanics...shoot can't remmeber the last one...oh some type of modern physics course(ie quantum/statistical mechanics)