Atomic Ground State: What Is It?

In summary, the ground state of an atom is the lowest allowed energy state and is usually located closest to the nucleus. It is also significant in energy transitions, particularly for hydrogen. However, its exact location and role can vary and may not always involve the energy level closest to the nucleus.
smscannell

Homework Statement

Hey guys, I'm studying AS level physics at the moment in the UK and I'm having a hard time grasping the concept of the ground state of an atom, so my question is:
Is the ground state the energy level that is closest to the atoms nucleus or is it the energy level that a certain electron involved in a quantum jump originates from. (Or have I just got it all completely wrong)

2. The attempt at a solution

After looking through my textbooks and on the internet all I've got is that when an atom is in its ground state it cannot lose energy because there are no available states of lower energy and the only examples I've found are for electrons that originate from the energy level closest to the nucleus.

Thanks in advance for any replies!

Physics news on Phys.org
The most fundamental property of the ground state is simply that its the lowest allowed energy state.

It does occur closest to the nucleus than excited energy levels (this point can get a little complicated, but its a good rule of thumb).
It does also happen to be an energy level important in energy transitions (especially for hydrogen).

1. What is an atomic ground state?

The atomic ground state refers to the lowest energy state of an atom, where all of its electrons are in their lowest energy levels or orbitals.

2. How is the atomic ground state determined?

The atomic ground state is determined by the arrangement and distribution of electrons in an atom's orbitals according to the Aufbau principle, which states that electrons fill orbitals starting from the lowest energy level and moving upwards.