1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Atoms of the highlighted elements

1. Oct 17, 2008 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I am an amateur researching elementary particles; on tabulating atoms the elements, atoms of the highlighted elements in the diagram below formed one group (of two possible groups); I should like to know if there is anything unique to the highlighted elements:
    [​IMG]

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Last edited: Oct 17, 2008
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 18, 2008 #2

Redbelly98

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Re: Elements

I'm having trouble understanding this statement. Elements don't just form a group by themselves, somebody has to group them.

If you explained more about where this diagram came from, who grouped the elements together like that, and details of what that person is doing, then it might be possible to answer the question.

We really need more information from you in order to help. Just what is it about the elements (or elementary particles) that you are researching?

4. Oct 21, 2008 #3

In FQHE experiments particles are pass through a magnetic field at right angle to the magnetic force. This is done in what is described as a two dimensional plane, the mathematical theory developed from FQHE experiments cannot be applied to the natural three dimensional world (according to Jainendra K Jain).