1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Average GPA

1. Feb 28, 2014 #1
    I am a first year engineering student and was wondering what average GPA's are compared to other universities. I attend a university in Canada which uses a percent based system and the college of engineering sets the average first year at a low 60%.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 28, 2014 #2
    No clue how to translates to the US system but in the US the average engineering undergrad GPA is targeted to be 2.8-3.2. Tests usually have an average of ~70% at my school.

4. Feb 28, 2014 #3
    Interesting. At the university I attend they make the first year the most difficult. They let in 200 more people than they have seats for in the second year so they make it as difficult to maintain a low 60 percent average and so about 200 people drop out. Second year is a little easier. Then the 3rd and 4th get a little more easy. Is it the same at your university?

5. Feb 28, 2014 #4
    Yeah generally for the 3rd and 4th year classes the class gets better grades. And the dropout rate in the first year is huge, many people just switch to economics or whatever.

6. Feb 28, 2014 #5

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Derek - I'd be curious to know if this is an actual written policy somewhere that you've specifically seen or if you're working on hearsay.

The reason I say that is because when the work gets tough, it's easy for such rumours to run rampant. Forcing a 60% average seems a little on the low side, but it's not unreasonable for averages to be in the high sixties to low seventies.

7. Feb 28, 2014 #6