1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Average math student

1. Aug 25, 2009 #1
    If I am an average math student who gets constant c's in classes like algebra and geometry, will i have a hard time in calculus, and should i just avoid it altogether?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 25, 2009 #2

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Yes, but No.

When do you earn the C's? How many times do you study the same course? Do you still assess yourself as C ? If you took the same course more than once and still earn C, you are doing something wrong.

4. Aug 25, 2009 #3
    ive never failed a course and never gotten anything less than a c. pre algebra i got a b in that class. but ive never had to take a class over.

5. Aug 25, 2009 #4
    You'll be fine if you choose to take calculus courses, given that you understanding the main concepts. C's and B's can just be a result of carelessness, obviously something you need to fix.

However, what is most important is the ability to understand new concepts, apply them, and be able to recognize one from the other. If you take the math course, just try your best and remember to pay attention. If you don't understand something from the courses you are taking, get tutoring. If you still don't get it - well, you really need to get it.

6. Aug 25, 2009 #5
    Yeah, and remember that the only way to do math is to do sample problems and the homework. I was able to get fine in all elementary/middle school math without doing homework, then geometry came along and I failed rather miserably cause my "studying" consisted of reviewing formulas rather than doing problems. Doing problems is the only way to learn math! Best of luck!

7. Aug 26, 2009 #6