Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Axioms - the choice & meaning

1. Jun 26, 2006 #1
    Hi! I'm a high school student and I've been interested in Logic for some time... Although I read some books and acquired some knowledge, I still have one question that remains unanswered in spite of my hard work... My tutor told me that the three axioms of Propositional Logic (see them for example at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Axioms) were chosen independently from the (semantic) meaning of the "implication" connectives and thus independently from the number of truth values (true/false; 0/0.5/1 and so on)...

Is it true? I didn't understand his explanation and so I began my own study of this subject. Does anyone of you know any Internet source or a book that deals with the choice of axioms of Propositional Logic in detail? Thanks a million!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 26, 2006 #2
    This is also related with the question - what led logicians to choose these three axioms, what is their history...? Because in most Logic books, these three axioms are presented as a definition, they are put down to be learnt by heart but without any deep explanation of their meaning, their history etc.

4. Jun 26, 2006 #3

honestrosewater

Gold Member

There are no three special axioms of propositional logic. There are calculi for propositional logic that have infinitely many axioms, a billion axioms, five hundred axioms, a dozen axioms, seven axioms, one axiom (e.g., [(((B -> C) -> (~D -> ~E)) -> D) -> F] -> [(F -> B) -> (E -> B)] - from Mendelson, Introduction to Mathematical Logic, 4th ed.), no axioms, and anything in between.