Engineering Challenge: Create a Balsa Wood Structure to Hold 3 15lbs. Weights!

In summary, Jared's engineering class was told to create a structure out of balsa wood and glue it to hold the weight of three 15lbs. weights for 1min. Jared tried a practice run but it did not work well. He then proposed a design using four 8 inch strips glued together to create a tall structure. The downside is that it only has an height of 1 inch.
mikieo
In my engineering class, we were told to create a structure out of balsa wood (1/8"x1/8") and glue. The structure has to suport the weight of 3 15lbs. weights (donut shape). We are only give 72" of balsa wood, and the structure must hold the 3 15lbs. weights for 1min. Sorry I am new to this class and engeneering in general but can I plese get some ideas?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well what sort of structure do you think you need to be looking at?

What sort of designs are you currently contemplating?

Jared

jarednjames said:
Well what sort of structure do you think you need to be looking at?

What sort of designs are you currently contemplating?

Jared

I don't have any ideas and I haven't even started yet? so i am open to anything just as long as it is within the rules I said

Well I can tell you a design that would work almost perfectly, but under the rules of PF I must request you show your attempts and I can only guide you towards the solution.

According to your rules, anything goes with the wood and glue. Although I'd say excessive glue use is outside the spirit of the challenge.

jarednjames said:
Well I can tell you a design that would work almost perfectly, but under the rules of PF I must request you show your attempts and I can only guide you towards the solution.

According to your rules, anything goes with the wood and glue. Although I'd say excessive glue use is outside the spirit of the challenge.