How Does Air Pressure Affect Curveball Distance in Different Ballparks?

In summary, Alex is seeking help for a high school research paper on the effects of air pressure on a curveball in baseball. They are looking for a computer-based projectile simulator that can vary air pressure and measure the path of the projectile. They have found some resources online, such as the FoilSim III software and articles on the aerodynamics of baseball, to aid in their research. Alex is grateful for the assistance and will continue to search for more information.
Alex Noel Cueto
Hello everyone,

It's my first time posting, so I hope everyone is doing well. I am looking for some help for a high school research paper/lab I'm currently working on. Basically, I am investigating how the varying air pressures of different baseball parks have an effect on the distance traveled of a curve ball. As it is nearly impossible, nor worth the time, for me to actually vary air pressure in real life and get decently accurate data, I was looking to see if there are any computer based projectile simulators which I can use to mimic different ballpark environments. With that said, The simulator would have to have an ability to vary air pressure and measure the path the projectile moved while in the air. It would also need a way to set the rotation of the projectile so it could mimic the curve of a baseball. No worries if such a software doesn't exist; I'm ready to come up with plan B lol. Then again, any help would be awesome. apologies for the long message.

Thanks for all the help!

Alex

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm English so I'm not exactly familiar with baseball but have you tried googling for info. I found...

https://www.grc.nasa.gov/www/K-12/airplane/foil2b.html