Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Bases in dual space

1. May 15, 2010 #1
    I'm a beginner at differential geometry.
    I have a problem about dual space. I understand why we use [tex]\left\{\frac{\partial}{\partial x^{\mu}}\right\} [/tex] as the bases in vector space, but I have no idea why
    we use [tex] \left\{ dx^{\mu} \right\} [/tex] as the bases of dual space. What is the reason
    of using it?

2. jcsd
  3. May 15, 2010 #2

lavinia

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2017 Award

I may not understand you question but

[tex]
    \left\{ dx^{\mu} \right\}
    [/tex]

is the dual basis. This is easy to check.

4. May 15, 2010 #3
    Yea, if you work out the "d" operator applied to a coordinate function x^i, you see that the dx^i are identical to the covector basis a^i, where a^i are just the functions such that a^i(e_j) = delta_ij.

5. May 17, 2010 #4
    The vectors {v_1*,..,v_n*} are the vectors that satisfy the condition:

v_i*(v_i)=1

v_i*(v_j)=0

Given a basis {v_1,..,v_n} .

You can look at the del/delx_j as positions , by using the isomorphism between

vector fields/derivations/directional derivatives, and the direction of the

directional derivatives. Then, if you use the standard (directional) bases

(1,0,0,.)=e_j (e_j is a vector with 1 in the j-th coordinate and is 0 everywhere

else) , the dx_i's are linear maps that project onto the i-th coordinate,

so that dx_i(e_i)=1 , and dx_i(e_j)=0

6. May 17, 2010 #5
    Perhaps it would be helpful if you gave us your definition of dual space. With every definition I've ever seen, the answer to your question is "by definition".

7. May 18, 2010 #6

HallsofIvy

Science Advisor